The Sustainability Professionals 2022
have been elected!

The Sustainability Professional 2022 plays a strategic and indispensable role within their company or organisation as someone who motivates, inspires or implements sustainability. This person’s job title can range from sustainability manager to CEO, HR manager, marketer, project leader, event manager, etc.

In addition, we honour the the Sustainability Pioneer 2022: a starter in the field of Sustainability, who has realized a strong, inspirational project or best practice during the past year. This title will also go to one Dutch-speaking and one French-speaking candidate.

The Sustainability Professionals 2022 are …

In the Dutch-speaking category:


Nele Van Damme,
co-CEO of Upgrade Estate

Upgrade Estate provides and manages sustainable housing for students, young professionals, and SMEs. Sustainability and societal value have been integrated into all their activities. Companies can and should make a difference. In 2021, they introduced a sustainability charter and created a basis for a Net-Zero 2035 Climate Plan. They want to use this to decarbonise their operational processes and the upward value chain.

Nele Van Damme: “I am so glad I can add this award to my achievements. The tension had me shaking at the knees. The other finalists were, of course, also deserving. This recognition is intensely valuable to me, my co-CEO, and all our employees who help us translate our core values to concrete and sustainable actions. This award boosts our motivation and confirms that we are doing the right thing. How do I see my role as Sustainability Professional? I want to inspire others and emphasize that small steps also make a difference. If you use an underlying long-term plan, things will eventually go according to that plan.”

In the French-speaking category:


Bruno Van Steenberghe,
managing director of Kalani-Home

Kalani-Home produces 100% biological and ethical house linen. In 2021, they made the duty of care, their raison d’ être, a large-scale reality. Bruno was a driving force behind a think tank consisting of a wide variety of enterprises which produced a letter to the Belgian government pleading to legally establish the duty of care. This would push companies to take up their responsibility for environmental and human rights in supply chains.

Bruno Van Steenberghe: “I am happy, surprised, and thankful to have won this award. This is a tremendous recognition not only for myself but for our entire team. The other finalists were real heavy hitters. We live in an age in which sustainability will become crucial. As Sustainability Professional 2022, I want to be a worthy ambassador. It would be amazing if I could inspire others to have a positive impact. I want to thank everyone that has supported me: my friends, my family, the members of the jury, our customers, and everyone who voted for me. And of course, who could forget the anonymous person who nominated me in the first place (laughs)?”

The Sustainability Pioneers 2022 are …

In the Dutch-speaking category:


Cédric Vanhoeck,
Executive Lead & cofounder, Resortecs

The jury is of the opinion that Cédric Vanhoeck, an Executive Lead at Resortecs, performs pioneer work in the field of sustainability. As Sustainability Pioneer, he makes total recyclability an achievable goal for the entire textile sector. Thanks to his innovative way of disassembling textile products, he is able to reuse textile “waste” more efficiently, enabling a switch from a linear “take-make-dispose” supply chain to a circular one. Resortecs’ Cédric serves as a role model for the textile industry which has been searching for a new, sustainable technology for a long time now.

In the French-speaking category:


Cécile Van De Weerdt,
Green Office Coordinator, Liège University

The jury is of the opinion that Cécile Van De Weerdt deserves the title of Sustainability for founding the Green Office at her workplace, the university of Liège. Together with a team of students, she created an engagement programme with clear objectives and a strong roadmap to half the carbon footprint of individual students by 2030. This is a challenge she tackles in a precise and structured manner. She keeps on motivating young people and stakeholders to achieve this goal.

Yes, you read that correctly. We changed our awards’ titles. Until last year, we elected the CSR Professional of the Year and the CSR Pioneer of the Year. This year, however, we will elect the Sustainability Professional of the Year and the Sustainability Pioneer of the Year. We do this because we believe that these new terms are an even better representation of what the award stands for.

In other, rather big news, the awards will be organised by both Time4Society and VBO FEB, the federation of Belgian entrepreneurs. This results in a meaningful value increase for both companies and organisations.

Pieter Timmermans,

CEO VBO FEB

“We will gladly support this event for years to come. It is an important event for the world of business because we need to inspire and support positive and sustainable entrepreneurship.”

Nathalie Bekx,

CEO Time4Society:

“These awards are proof that there is an increasing number of companies and organisations that choose sustainability. Not only that, they also want to learn from one another and cooperate with each other.”

On Thursday the 24th of February 2022, we organized the seventh Sustainability Professional 2022 event.

View the photos of this exciting evening here.

These are the winners of the previous editions:

CSR Professional of the Year 2019
Dutch-speaking category:
Caroline Pauwels, rector Vrije Universiteit Brussel

“Our university teaches our youth the values of social responsibility. The next generations will take good care of our planet – of that I am sure. If we focus on positive things, we can achieve so much together.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2019
French-speaking category:
Nicolas Declercq, founder Brasserie Leopold 7

“I dream that in 50 years’ time, my children will say: my father was a pioneer. Beer is a valued product and people associate it with passion. My passion for beer production goes hand in hand with a great number of values. To me, that’s very important.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2018
Dutch-speaking category:
Ann Claes, Chief Buying Officer, JBC

“I am very happy with this award, which actually belongs to our entire team. We have been working hard on more sustainability over the past few years. One example we are very proud of, is that we are now selling 100% recycled jeans at JBC. This award is a nice recognition for the route we have taken.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2018
French-speaking category:
Pascal Léglise, CSR Director, Carrefour Belgium

“Together with my team, I have been working for more than 10 years on the road to more sustainable entrepreneurship in retail. And today we are reaping the benefits, together with the local producers that we support though Act for Food. This award is a great recognition of our work!”

CSR Professional of the Year 2017
category large enterprise:
Eric de Deckere, Senior Technical Manager Sustainable Transition, Port of Antwerp

“Winning this award is a recognition of the trajectory we have followed so far. In 2010 and 2011 we started reporting on sustainability. This eventually resulted in concrete actions. Right now we are in the midst of a transition. Reporting is still one of our core practices, but now we are doing so much more. This prize is a reward for all our hard work, for the team and for the companies that are involved in the harbour community and are willing to undertake steps with the aim of becoming more sustainable.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2017
category SME:
Philip Van Kelst, founder & CEO, Kasteelhoeve Wange

“This prize is nice reward! Since the foundation of Kasteelhoeve Wange we have been making a lot of CSR efforts in order to become sustainable. It was a fundamental choice, also out of financial considerations. It has been a lonely and frightful way at times, but along the way we have gathered a whole community, which I find very fulfilling. People believe in us, they connect with us. This award is the icing on the cake!”

CSR Professional of the Year 2016
category large enterprise:
Ann Vandenhende, CSR Manager Spadel

“This award is a recognition for the entire Spadel team. My CEO, Marc Du Bois, deserves praise and a ‘thank you’ as well. In the field of CSR he’s at least as passionate as I am. Without his enthusiasm, I wouldn’t have been able to do the work I’m doing today. And I’ll keep on doing my job with loads of enthusiasm!”

CSR Professional of the Year 2020
Dutch-speaking category:
Philippe Weiler, Head of Sustainability Lidl Belgium

I am very happy with this recognition. We and two other organisations stood together in the finals. Each of us bring CSR alive in their own way. But all with the same goal, which is to be a part of that transition.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2020
French-speaking category:
Salvatore Iannello, CEO La Chocolaterie Galler

This is an emotional moment. When the project of one man becomes that of a team and then of a whole cooperating company, it is magical. This title is not mine but the whole company’s!”

CSR Professional of the Year 2016
category SME:
Joost Callens, CEO Durabrik

“I’m blown away a bit. I want to dedicate this award to my team and I want to thank them for their hard work. In the words of Toon Hermans: ‘There have to be people that ignite suns, before the world rains away’. I’m happy that I can make a contribution.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2015:
Michel Croisé, president Sodexo Benelux

“This award is a recognition for the whole team of Sodexo. It is a pleasure to motivate people who are already motivated. But the most important thing is that we all take steps towards a better society.”

Les Sustainability
Professionals 2022 sont connus !

Le Sustainability Professional joue un rôle important dans son entreprise, que ce soit en motivant, en inspirant ou en implémentant la durabilité. Il exerce peut-être cette influence en tant que responsable Sustainability, mais il se peut aussi qu’il s’agisse d’un CEO, HR manager, marketeer, responsable de projet ou event manager.

En outre, nous honorons le Sustainability Pioneer 2022 : il s’agit d’un débutant dans le domaine de la durabilité qui a mis sur pied un projet solide et inspirant ou bonne pratique au cours de la dernière année. Ce titre sera attribué à un candidat néerlandophone et un candidat francophone.

Les Sustainability Professionals 2022 sont …

Dans la catégorie francophone :


Bruno Van Steenberghe,
Managing director de Kalani-Home

Kalani-Home fabrique du linge de maison 100 % biologique et éthique. En 2021, ils ont fait de leur cheval de bataille, le devoir de vigilance, une réalité à grande échelle. Bruno a été le moteur d’un think tank composé de diverses entreprises. Il en est résulté une lettre adressée au gouvernement belge pour l’inviter à établir légalement le devoir de vigilance. De cette manière, chaque entreprise doit assumer sa responsabilité en matière d’environnement et de droits humains dans les chaînes d’approvisionnement.

Bruno Van Steenberghe : “Je suis content, surpris et reconnaissant d’avoir gagné. Les autres finalistes étaient de grandes pointures. C’est une très belle reconnaissance, pour moi comme pour toute notre équipe. Nous vivons à une époque où la durabilité devient vraiment cruciale. Ayant remporté ce prix, je veux en être un digne ambassadeur. Ce serait formidable de pouvoir inspirer d’autres à créer un impact positif. Je voudrais remercier tous ceux qui m’ont soutenu : mes amis, ma famille, les membres du jury, nos clients et tous ceux qui ont voté pour moi. En n’oubliant surtout pas la personne, toujours anonyme, qui m’a nominé pour ce concours (rires). »

Dans la catégorie néerlandophone :


Nele Van Damme,
Co-CEO d’Upgrade Estate

Upgrade Estate fournit et gère des logements durables pour les étudiants, les jeunes professionnels et les PME. La durabilité et la valeur ajoutée sociale sont intégrées dans toutes leurs activités. Les entreprises peuvent et doivent faire la différence. En 2021, ils ont introduit une charte de durabilité et jeté les bases d’un plan climatique Net-Zero 2035. Ils veulent ainsi décarboniser leurs processus opérationnels et la chaîne de valeur en amont.

Nele Van Damme : “Je suis heureuse de pouvoir exposer ce trophée sur mon bureau. Quelle tension, j’en tremblais ! Il faut dire que les autres finalistes étaient aussi très forts. Cette reconnaissance est très précieuse. Pour moi, pour mon co-CEO et pour tous nos collaborateurs, qui contribuent chaque jour à traduire nos valeurs en actions durables concrètes. Cet award renforce encore notre motivation et confirme que nous sommes sur la bonne voie. Ce que je désire faire en tant que Sustainabiliy Professional ? Inspirer les autres et montrer qu’on peut aussi faire la différence avec de tout petits pas, si ceux-ci s’appuient sur une vision à long terme sous-jacente. »

Les Sustainability Pioneers 2022 sont …

Dans la catégorie francophone :


Cécile Van De Weerdt,
Coordinatrice du Green Office, Université de Liège

Le jury estime que Cécile Van De Weerdt, de l’Université de Liège, mérite le titre de Sustainability Pioneer pour la fondation de Green Office dans son institution académique. Avec une équipe d’étudiants, elle a développé un programme d’engagement aux objectifs clairs et une feuille de route pour réduire de moitié l’empreinte carbone individuelle des étudiants d’ici 2030. Elle relève ce défi de façon très ciblée et structurée. Elle motive sans cesse les jeunes et les parties prenantes afin d’atteindre cet objectif ensemble.

Dans la catégorie néerlandophone :


Cédric Vanhoeck,
Executive Lead & co-founder, Resortecs

Le jury estime que Cédric Vanhoeck, l’Executive Lead de Resortecs, fait œuvre de pionnier dans le domaine de la durabilité. En tant que Sustainability Pioneer, il fait en sorte que le secteur du textile puisse atteindre une recyclabilité totale. Grâce à sa méthode de désassemblage innovante, il parvient à réutiliser plus efficacement les ‘déchets’ textiles et à passer d’une chaîne linéaire ‘take-make-dispose’ à une chaîne d’approvisionnement circulaire. Cédric est une source d’inspiration pour le secteur du textile, qui, depuis longtemps, est à la recherche de nouvelles technologies durables.

Oui, vous avez bien lu, le titre a changé. Jusqu’à l’année dernière, nous appelions ces prix CSR Professional of the year et CSR Pioneer of the year. Aujourd’hui, nous les appelons Sustainability Professional et Sustainability Pioneer, car ‘sustainability ou la durabilité’ est encore plus appropriée.

Autre grande nouvelle : l’élection sera dorénavant organisée par Time4Society et la Fédération des Entreprises de Belgique. Cela augmente la valeur et l’importance de la participation des entreprises et des organisations.

Pieter Timmermans,

CEO VBO FEB

“Dans les années à venir, nous serons heureux de contribuer à cet événement important pour le monde des entreprises, car nous voulons inspirer et soutenir les entrepreneurs qui créent une valeur positive et durable. ”

Nathalie Bekx,

CEO Time4Society:

“Cette élection prouve que de plus en plus d’entreprises et d’organisations optent pour la durabilité, qu’elles veulent apprendre les unes des autres et collaborer.“

La septième édition du Sustainability Professional a eu lieu le jeudi 24 février 2022.

Voici les photos de cette soirée réjouissante.

Les gagnants des années précédentes :

CSR Professional of the Year 2019
catégorie francophone :
Nicolas Declercq, fondateur Brasserie Leopold 7

“Je rêve que dans 50 ans mes enfants disent: mon père était un pionnier. La bière reste un produit très apprécié où les gens voient la passion. Ma passion pour la production va de pair avec de nombreuses valeurs, ce qui est extrêmement important.“

CSR Professional of the Year 2019
catégorie néerlandophone :
Caroline Pauwels, rectrice Vrije Universiteit Brussel

“Notre université transmet les valeurs et les normes de responsabilité sociale à nos jeunes. Je suis convaincue que la planète est entre de bonnes mains avec les générations futures. Si nous nous concentrons sur le positif, nous pouvons accomplir beaucoup de choses ensemble.”

CSR Professional of the Year 2018
catégorie francophone :
Pascal Léglise, CSR Director, Carrefour Belgium

“Avec mon équipe, je travaille depuis plus de 10 ans à rendre le commerce de détail plus durable. Et aujourd’hui, nous en récoltons les fruits, en collaboration avec les producteurs locaux, que nous soutenons notamment via Act for Food. Ce prix est le couronnement de notre travail !”

CSR Professional of the Year 2018
catégorie néerlandophone :
Ann Claes, Chief Buying Officer, JBC

“Je suis très heureuse d’avoir reçu ce prix qui revient en fait à toute notre équipe. Ces dernières années, nous avons travaillé dur pour accroître la durabilité de nos produits et nous sommes très fiers, par exemple, de vendre aujourd’hui des jeans 100% recyclés chez JBC. Ce prix est une belle reconnaissance du chemin parcouru. »

CSR Professional of the Year 2017
catégorie grande entreprise :
Eric de Deckere, Senior directeur technique Sustainable Transition, Entreprise portuaire d’Anvers

“Gagner ce prix est une reconnaissance pour le chemin parcouru. Nous avons commencé à établir des rapports sur la durabilité en 2010 et 2011. Et à partir de là, un mouvement s’est développé et nous sommes arrivés à des actions concrètes. Nous sommes maintenant vraiment dans un mode de transition. Le rapportage en fait toujours partie, mais nous en faisons beaucoup plus. Ce prix est une récompense pour tout le travail accompli, pour l’équipe et pour les entreprises de la communauté portuaire qui sont impliquées et qui veulent prendre des mesures pour devenir plus durables.“

CSR Professional of the Year 2017
catégorie PME :
Philip Van Kelst, fondateur & CEO, Kasteelhoeve Wange

“Ce prix est une belle récompense ! Depuis la création du Kasteelhoeve Wange, nous nous sommes concentrés sur le développement durable et la responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise. Il s’agissait d’un choix fondamental, également sur le plan financier. Cela a parfois été une voie solitaire et effrayante, mais il est gratifiant d’être maintenant entouré d’une vraie communauté. Les gens croient en nous et se connectent avec nous. Ce prix est la cerise sur le gâteau !“

CSR Professional of the Year 2016
catégorie grande entreprise :
Ann Vandenhende, CSR Manager Spadel

“Cet award est une reconnaissance pour toute l’équipe de Spadel. Mon CEO, Marc Du Bois, mérite également des remerciements supplémentaires. Il est au moins aussi passionné que moi par la RSE. Je ne pourrais pas faire ce que je fais aujourd’hui sans son implication. Je vais continuer à faire mon travail avec énormément de passion !“

CSR Professional of the Year 2020
catégorie francophone :
Salvatore Iannello, CEO La Chocolaterie Galler

“Je vis un grand moment d’émotion. Quand le projet d’un seul homme devient celui d’une équipe, puis de toute une entreprise collaborative, c’est magique. Ce titre ne m’appartient pas, il revient à toute l’entreprise !“

CSR Professional of the Year 2020
catégorie néerlandophone :
Philippe Weiler, Head of Sustainability Lidl Belgium

“Je suis très heureux de cette reconnaissance. Nous sommes arrivés en finale en étant trois organisations très différentes, qui font vivre la RSE de différentes façons. Mais avec le même objectif, à savoir faire notre part dans cette transition.“

CSR Professional of the Year 2016
catégorie PME :
Joost Callens, CEO Durabrik

“Je suis très touché. Je tiens à dédier cet award à mon équipe que je remercie vivement pour tout le travail fourni. Comme le dit Toon Hermans : ‘Il doit y avoir des gens qui allument des soleils, avant que le monde n’aille en enfer’. Je suis heureux de pouvoir apporter ma pierre à l’édifice.“

CSR Professional of the Year 2015 :
Michel Croisé, president Sodexo Benelux

“Cet award est une reconnaissance pour toute l’équipe de Sodexo. C’est un plaisir de motiver des gens qui sont déjà motivés. Le plus important c’est d’avancer tous ensemble dans la bonne direction.“